10
Mar
09

some kind of palsy

I’m building a PC. That much is settled. I guess step two was supposed to be tracking down what specs I need. Well no battle plan outlasts first contact, so I guess fuck that – I’m going for the biggest, baddest machine that I can afford. And by can afford I of course mean can’t afford. I’d like to say I’ve nailed the big three, but it’s probably more accurate to say they’ve nailed me. You see, I’m confident in the components I’ve selected. And this is the crux of my concern.

I’ll go on record to say there is no best component – one might be a little faster, one might cost a little less – when computer components are in the same league, they are much and much. So if there is no best component, how can I be confident in my selection?

It’s obvious I’m acting under some outside influence, possibly fulfilling ancient prophecy. I guess there are other explanations, Charles Darwin wrote ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge, so what am I ignorant of? Am I ignorant of the fact that component selection for a new PC isn’t exactly a life or death situation, that in the grand scheme of things it really doesn’t matter what I select? Can I even be ignorant of a fact I’ve just stated?

Is it my knowledge of this fact that has me so confident?

That went somewhere unplanned, I guess that’s stream of consciousness for you. Either way, here are the components with that mystical allure.

 

Intel Core i7 920 Processor

Asus P6T Deluxe Motherboard

Zotac GTX280 1G AMP Graphics Card

 

I must also admit I am quiet smitten with the Thermaltake Soprano DX case, and for the price I don’t think I can go past this Kingston RAM.

I just hope these components like each other as much as I like them.

Oh, and if you are looking to buy or build a pc online in Australia I suggest umart – I’ve done a few price comparisons and they are the cheapest (usually by a healthy margin) against all competition I could find.

0 Responses to “some kind of palsy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Playing on Playstation 3

Red Dead Revolver - I paid about $1000 for my launch model PS3, so I guess it's time I get some use out of that emotion chip crammed inside. I remember Red Dead Revolver looking rather good when it was released, and despite the low resolution and odd blurring (that I attribute to playing on a HD set) the game holds up well. It looks good despite these graphical limitations because the art direction is so precise and awesome. And it isn't just the art direction, the music, dialogue and set design (for some reason, set seems a more fitting word than level) all work in tandem to recreate an iconic Wild West atmosphere. Red Dead Revolver doesn’t aim to recreate life in the Wild West, it allows our imagination to take over and populates the locale with legendary men and their legendary stories.

Playing on iPhone

edge - Well I never thought I'd consider playing a game on iPhone as actually gaming, but edge has turned me around. The game is built for the iPhone. Sure, it could be ported, but the elegance of what has been created is astounding, it boggles the mind and makes me wonder what amazing gems we'd receive if current gen consoles weren't clones of eachother.

Playing on PC

Sins of a Solar Empire, Demigod, Generals - Zero Hour - It may be a temporary effect as I slowly reintroduce the PC into my gaming diet, but it seems every title I’m excited to play on the platform is either a strategy game, or a cheap indie game. PC gaming isn’t dead, it’s just restricted to titles that require complex input or a pointing device, and games that couldn't be developed or distributed on other platforms. I guess that’s part of the reason the AppStore is so far a success, there were a lot of indie devs stuck on PC for lack of a better alternative.
____________________

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

