05
Mar
09

You’re a handsome devil. What’s your name?

So I guess I’m in the market for a new PC. Usually not a daunting task, but it’s been hella long since I’ve had even a passing interest in PC specs. What are we upto, 6GHz? Or do we just count the number of cells now.

I don’t really need a new PC, but I don’t really need clean water either. I haven’t purchase a PC since my AMD 2100+ was hot shit, and I guess it’s about time for a new one. I’ve got a lot to think about and weigh up, and as soon as I know enough to fill the Umart custom pc form, I’m sure I’ll fall off my chair at the price.

Maybe I shouldn’t go custom. Maybe I should stick with a prebuilt system, possibly paying more than what it’s worth, but saving myself from going overboard. If I’m going for a prebuilt system, why not a laptop? It would be useful ­- especially to keep me social and from locking myself in my dungeon every time I need to google something – but it could hardly be used for gaming, and I could get a fuckpile more bang for my buck if I stick to PC and avoid the portability tax.

Things used to be simple, but I feel like I’m on the bounds of being out of my depth. Yes, I can throw a pc together with no real trouble, but I’ve been out of the loop and don’t want to make any dumb choices; if you’re not informed your making uninformed decisions.

Take hard disk drives for instance. My initial reaction is to drop two WD 500GBs in the box. Fuck yea, a terrorbyte – I had a mate in the day who had spent a thousand bucks trying to get that kind of space, he built an array of ten 80GB drives (at about $120 a pop) and needed a server case to house them in. But is this a smart decision? Do I really want all that space locked away where only this single, selfish machine has access to it? Maybe I should go for a smaller internal drive, and rely on an external LAN accessible enclosure for the majority of my storage needs? Will my PS3 talk directly to this, or will I need to media share through the PC to access the content? Questions I don’t have the answers to. Yet.

So I guess I have a bit of homework, I need to catch up and know my shit, and for this expedition to be a success I’ll need a bit of motivation.

I’m going to need to save for this , as well as track down what specs I need/want and research the best way to achieve them.

To motivate myself, I’ll be posting my progress here. It wont stop me from failing miserably, but at least I can laugh at myself along with my sporadic cast of readers.

Until then, see you over at Tom’s Hardware.

2 Responses to “You’re a handsome devil. What’s your name?”


  1. March 6, 2009 at 1:27 PM

    Good luck on your project. I too am building my own computer this year, with the help of trained professional. I’m almost ready for the build, lacking only a video card (the key piece of the rig for gaming; the bacon on the cheeseburger, if you will, that turns it from awesome to mind-blowing). It can be rather daunting, but it’s a fun project to undertake and just buying the parts make you feel smarter. 🙂

  2. 2 Jackie
    June 29, 2009 at 9:44 PM

    We got a terabyte for $119.. Cheap!


Leave a Reply

Playing on Playstation 3

Red Dead Revolver - I paid about $1000 for my launch model PS3, so I guess it's time I get some use out of that emotion chip crammed inside. I remember Red Dead Revolver looking rather good when it was released, and despite the low resolution and odd blurring (that I attribute to playing on a HD set) the game holds up well. It looks good despite these graphical limitations because the art direction is so precise and awesome. And it isn't just the art direction, the music, dialogue and set design (for some reason, set seems a more fitting word than level) all work in tandem to recreate an iconic Wild West atmosphere. Red Dead Revolver doesn’t aim to recreate life in the Wild West, it allows our imagination to take over and populates the locale with legendary men and their legendary stories.

Playing on iPhone

edge - Well I never thought I'd consider playing a game on iPhone as actually gaming, but edge has turned me around. The game is built for the iPhone. Sure, it could be ported, but the elegance of what has been created is astounding, it boggles the mind and makes me wonder what amazing gems we'd receive if current gen consoles weren't clones of eachother.

Playing on PC

Sins of a Solar Empire, Demigod, Generals - Zero Hour - It may be a temporary effect as I slowly reintroduce the PC into my gaming diet, but it seems every title I’m excited to play on the platform is either a strategy game, or a cheap indie game. PC gaming isn’t dead, it’s just restricted to titles that require complex input or a pointing device, and games that couldn't be developed or distributed on other platforms. I guess that’s part of the reason the AppStore is so far a success, there were a lot of indie devs stuck on PC for lack of a better alternative.
____________________

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

