16
Dec
08

My weekend in gaming – LittleBigPlanet impressions

On my girlfriends recommendation, nigh, insistence, I picked up LittleBigPlanet.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t hesitate to comply, the game had simply dropped while I was on holiday and at the rate we’re moving forward even the most remarkable titles can get left behind. Shortly after the title’s release I had played a couple of levels at a friends house, and enjoyed my brief exposure. But I still wasn’t entirely sure what to expect, was this game really as good as they’d said it would be?

The answer is yes. And no. Well at least, not yet. I was honestly amazed by what MM where capable of achieving with some of their levels. Prior to purchasing the game I read a comment on Kotaku in reply to a your favourite gaming moment of 2008 type post which read “LBP… Hands down” and I couldn’t comprehend it. I do now. But unfortunately it’s this all encompassing understanding that Media Molecule have over their game and mechanics that threatens to defeat LBP’s other selling point. Simply put, I can’t beat them at their own game. If I try to make something simple or derivatory, I can’t present it as well as MM. If it try to make something outside the box.. well MM have crafted a pretty big fucking box. Alas, my attempts so far have been enlightening learning tools and observing what MM have done in their levels is a great way to expand my own ideas. I will create an awesome level, and you will love it. It may just take a while.

I must mention that Julia loves the game and is a competent player, at times she has a better grasp of the mechanics than I – although I’d argue that my mind is split between actually playing and studying the exposed workings of each obstacle, and not necessarily in that order.

I just watched the Dante’s Inferno trailer and I’m pretty sure this game isn’t allowed to be bad. I’m not saying it’s necessarily going to be good – it’s being developed by EA Redwood Shores and that does fill me with hope – but my point is an epic of this magnitude deserves to be treated right; or actually, deserves not to be treated wrong. Either way, I can only hope that when the focus returns to Dead Space, Redwood Shores will have a taste for excellent narrative and give us a plot I couldn’t piece together with a few sci-fi dvds.

And I guess Naughty Dog think Drake looks cute when he’s hurt too, and I hope he spent some of his fortune on travel insurance. There’s a gallery of ‘leaked’ screenshots for the game, which you can visit if you’re into that kind of thing.

1 Response to “My weekend in gaming – LittleBigPlanet impressions”


  1. January 19, 2009 at 11:51 PM

    I wasn’t really interested in LittleBigPlanet, but I got an invitation to the beta and simply loved it. I even made my own little levels and they worked out quite alright. I really enjoyed the beta and am playing to buy the game as soon as money allow me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Playing on Playstation 3

Red Dead Revolver - I paid about $1000 for my launch model PS3, so I guess it's time I get some use out of that emotion chip crammed inside. I remember Red Dead Revolver looking rather good when it was released, and despite the low resolution and odd blurring (that I attribute to playing on a HD set) the game holds up well. It looks good despite these graphical limitations because the art direction is so precise and awesome. And it isn't just the art direction, the music, dialogue and set design (for some reason, set seems a more fitting word than level) all work in tandem to recreate an iconic Wild West atmosphere. Red Dead Revolver doesn’t aim to recreate life in the Wild West, it allows our imagination to take over and populates the locale with legendary men and their legendary stories.

Playing on iPhone

edge - Well I never thought I'd consider playing a game on iPhone as actually gaming, but edge has turned me around. The game is built for the iPhone. Sure, it could be ported, but the elegance of what has been created is astounding, it boggles the mind and makes me wonder what amazing gems we'd receive if current gen consoles weren't clones of eachother.

Playing on PC

Sins of a Solar Empire, Demigod, Generals - Zero Hour - It may be a temporary effect as I slowly reintroduce the PC into my gaming diet, but it seems every title I’m excited to play on the platform is either a strategy game, or a cheap indie game. PC gaming isn’t dead, it’s just restricted to titles that require complex input or a pointing device, and games that couldn't be developed or distributed on other platforms. I guess that’s part of the reason the AppStore is so far a success, there were a lot of indie devs stuck on PC for lack of a better alternative.
____________________

Pages

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

