15
Sep
08

My weekend in gaming

Monday again. The weekend is over, and as per usual, it was far too short.

Despite that, I managed to wrangle some pretty diverse gaming out of my limited time.

I’m not proud, but it’s time to admit – I am lost in Final Fantasy 1. I’ve attempted to work through it, and it feels pretty awesome to know my party has sustained itself since Tuesday without venturing into a town to heal, but I honestly need more satisfaction from my portable gaming time.

Enter Mega Man 3. The upcoming Mega Man 9 with it’s retro graphics and gameplay has captured my attention – and when the time comes, will capture my dollar too.

Honestly, if you’d asked me 6 months ago if a game that could run on NES would have me eagerly awaiting confirmation of it’s release date (and price), I’d call you crazy, and go back to COD4.

So what’s changed? I think a lot has to do with Bionic Commando Rearmed, the perfect game to bridge the gap. The classic gameplay with updated graphics and remixed sound is the exact stepping stone required for Capcom to profit from this bold move.

The odd thing is, I’ve never played a Mega Man title (I jumped from the 2600 to the Master System II), and only witnessed one being played once – I was about 11 years old, and probably displaying my first signs of fanboyism. If I remember correctly my verdict was that the game was too forgiving, the player received health from almost every downed foe.

So to give myself a little heads up before 9 dropped, I loaded up my PSP with  nesterJ, and knowing only that the series got off on the wrong foot, Mega Man 3 seemed as good a place to start as any.

This game is hard. I don’t know what texta I was sniffing all those years ago, the dude I was watching made it look so easy – and in return I stomped my feet near his NES.

I can say my PSP gaming was more successful than my PC attempt.

I’ve never had any interest in MMO games, but recently stumbled onto this review of a free one called Planeshift, and it got my attention. Unfortunately I was unable to run it, so on the reviewer’s suggestion, gave Eternal Lands a try.

I can now say that I do not like MMO games, or at the very least, I don’t like Eternal Lands. I believe it comes with the territory, but the lag between your commands and your avatar’s action really break the immersion. After creating my character (a dwarf named Malhumorado) I floated around for a while chasing rabbits and harvesting sticks. But the real buzz kill came when I  wanted to leave. Failing to find an exit or log out button, I made the assumption that the game used a persistent server that must store my character and details remote to me – so I closed the program.

Well I guess my assumption was wrong, as my attempts to log back in yesterday informed me my username didn’t exist.

Consider this the end of that story.

Oh, and I did fit some Warhawk time in. I’m about 800 points from my next promotion, I’m hoping I can achieve that before next weekend. 

2 Responses to “My weekend in gaming”


  1. 1 openbytes
    September 29, 2008 at 6:07 AM

    Hello there!

    Its flattering to know other people read my words, let alone act on them.

    Im a big fan of Eternal Lands, your char should have been saved, and Ive not encountered that problem before, however during the game typing #save and #quit are the things I always do before finishing the game.

    Eternal Lands is still WIP and needs a lot of time dedicated to it, to get a return. But it is a great game!

    Harvesting sticks is not the best idea to start out with, and speaking with the tutorial guy and the wrath, allows you to develop your character in the ways of magic/fighting etc.

    Start with Lillies and move onto vegetables (if you want to make easy money) and try following a dicipline like summoning/fighting etc.

    Thanks for coming to my site.

    Goblin[RFD]
    http://www.openbytes.wordpress.com

  2. September 30, 2008 at 9:51 AM

    Thanks for the command line tips. I’ve still got the game installed, so I might give it another shot – I just don’t have the time to sit down for long sessions, but I’ll try and slog away at it a little bit at a time.


Leave a Reply

Playing on Playstation 3

Red Dead Revolver - I paid about $1000 for my launch model PS3, so I guess it's time I get some use out of that emotion chip crammed inside. I remember Red Dead Revolver looking rather good when it was released, and despite the low resolution and odd blurring (that I attribute to playing on a HD set) the game holds up well. It looks good despite these graphical limitations because the art direction is so precise and awesome. And it isn't just the art direction, the music, dialogue and set design (for some reason, set seems a more fitting word than level) all work in tandem to recreate an iconic Wild West atmosphere. Red Dead Revolver doesn’t aim to recreate life in the Wild West, it allows our imagination to take over and populates the locale with legendary men and their legendary stories.

Playing on iPhone

edge - Well I never thought I'd consider playing a game on iPhone as actually gaming, but edge has turned me around. The game is built for the iPhone. Sure, it could be ported, but the elegance of what has been created is astounding, it boggles the mind and makes me wonder what amazing gems we'd receive if current gen consoles weren't clones of eachother.

Playing on PC

Sins of a Solar Empire, Demigod, Generals - Zero Hour - It may be a temporary effect as I slowly reintroduce the PC into my gaming diet, but it seems every title I’m excited to play on the platform is either a strategy game, or a cheap indie game. PC gaming isn’t dead, it’s just restricted to titles that require complex input or a pointing device, and games that couldn't be developed or distributed on other platforms. I guess that’s part of the reason the AppStore is so far a success, there were a lot of indie devs stuck on PC for lack of a better alternative.
____________________

Pages

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

